Christmas Giftbox Cards

I am not a Holidays-y type of person. I try to be. The best I do is my annual mulled wine and/or eggnog (the latter, by the way, is delicious. I know, I know, you probably don’t like eggnog. You really can’t say that without trying homemade eggnog, though. It isn’t the same, and I don’t mean just a shift in taste. It’s an entirely different and luxurious drink, but I’ll save this for another time) and I made a gingerbread house a couple of times.

Well, this year I wanted to send out Christmas cards for the first time ever. My first step toward domestic goddessship. Next up – I fucking bake cookies or something.

2012-12-09 19.35.37

The finished product. The edges of this one are not stuck together perfectly, but I fixed that before I sent it. So this is really just more or less how they turned out.

Anyway, I wanted something a little different and was not trusting myself to come up with anything cute or decorative enough to guilt people into saving them (at least for a little while) after the fact. So I made what was basically cards as little gift ornaments. Due to being overwhelmed at Christmas, I had no chance to get really great pictures, but I did document some of the process. Sorry for the terrible formatting on this post. The whole process was beyond irritating, the pictures kept shifting around and changing orders, and it NEVER looked the same as it did when I actually published it.

IMG_1626

IMG_1631IMG_1627

The template was just some square notepaper I have. Two triangles and two rectangles per box. They proportioned nicely.

IMG_1629

I used a guide so I could see that the ribbon would be centered on the outside.

IMG_1633

Folded the triangles before sticking them on and attaching the ribbon to the underside. The pic shows them folded with the right side out, but they fold the other way when in the envelope.

IMG_1634

The ribbon attached.

IMG_1636

Holes. I used an awl because I have one of those and no hole punch.

IMG_1637

Tape!

2013-01-15 11.34.22

My somewhat messy prototype card, demonstrating how they fold inwards to sit in the envelopes.

2012-12-09 19.35.22

I found really cute little tags for them at Tiimari.

I made them using really gift-y looking card stock. Ridiculously, I used tape. Tape!  I had reasoning for this, though! I wanted the joins to remain soft, so they wouldn’t be too deformed after sitting in envelopes for days and days.

The greetings were glued onto the sides on off-white paper torn pseudo-creatively and stuck onto sparkly gold corrugated paper/cardboard stuff. Me, my husband and our two cats wrote our names on in gold paint marker and I stuck them on. They turned out really pretty, but I don’t really have pictures of that.

I ended up overloading myself before Christmas and getting overwhelmed, so I failed to take pictures of these and everything else I did over the holiday. Bah!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So that was that! I had 4 different colours, and I included a poorly-drawn graphic which each one in case someone couldn’t figure out what the hell I’d sent them. It seems to have worked okay though, everyone got their little gift box cards and got them set up alright.

Next year I think I’ll go for some kind of pop-up scene.

Edited to add: I really hate how this post looks, but it was annoying enough to just get it like this. I’ll never get around to making it nice looking.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

